Question: What do AVGFree, Natalie Portman and John Cenas have in common? The answer is that Twitter is trying to screw us all.
Hi folks,
Please don’t go to any of these Twitter urls… they are dangerous.
Since at least the 23rd September, we’ve been trying unsuccessfully to get Twitter to shut down a Twitter account that has been using our brand. Anyone who searched for AVGFree on twitter would see this screen... (click to enlarge)
And if you then go to the download page, you see this screen...
In fact, you see a whole lot of software choices to download, except AVG, and interestingly, no matter which choice you make, you are in fact, directed to this website...
Which seems to be a legitimate business, but not the software that I was trying to select. This would seem to be a case of a rogue affiliate trying to drive business. I’m all for people making money, but they shouldn’t be using other folk’s brands.
The real issue, however, is that Twitter simply doesn’t seem to care about what brand-squatting happens on their system. To mention just a few examples, Natalie Portman is being squatted as twitter.com/natalieportmans. You see this screen...
And John Cena is being squatted as twitter.com/johncenas5
If you try to click the link at the bottom of any of these screens, you are taken to a website that tries to install rogue antispy programs...
Or free adult movies...
I hope these celebrities have better luck than we have trying to get the bogus accounts removed.
It’s a tricky world out there folk… keep safe.
Roger
Share | |








Very good reading and educational Roger, learn something new about the greed out there. ... Udo freenclear1@msn.com
Posted by: Udo Gegeny | November 25, 2009 at 08:37 PM